4.—Members of the Eighteenth Ministry, as at Jan. 31, 19621

(According to precedence of Ministers)

Norz.—A complete list of the members of Federal Ministries from Confederation to 1913 appears in the 1912 Year Book, pp. 422-429. Later Ministries will be found in subsequent editions.

Office	Occupant	Date of First Appointment	Date of Appointment to Present Portfolio
Prime Minister	Rt. Hon. John George Diefenbaker. Hon. Howard Charles Green Hon. Donald Methuen Fleming Hon. George Hees. Hon. George Hees. Hon. George Cluberthil. Hon. George Cluber Nowlan Hon. George Clube Nowlan Hon. Douglas Scott Harkness. Hon. Ellen Lours Farclough. Hon. Ellen Lours Farclough. Hon. Michael Starr. Hon. Michael Starr. Hon. Michael Starr. Hon. William McLean Hamilton. Hon. William McLean Hamilton. Hon. William McLean Hamilton. Hon. Jay Waldo Monteith. Hon. Jay Waldo Monteith. Hon. David James Walker. Hon. David James Walker. Hon. David James Walker. Hon. David James Walker. Hon. Noel Dorion. Hon. Noël Dorion. Hon. Noël Dorion. Hon. Walter Dinsdale. Hon. George Ernest Halpenny.	June 21, 1957 June 21, 1957 Aug. 22, 1957 Aug. 22, 1957 May 12, 1958 Aug. 20, 1959 Aug. 20, 1959 Aug. 20, 1959 Oct. 11, 1960 Oct. 11, 1960 Oct. 11, 1960 Dec. 28, 1961	June 21, 1957 June 4, 1959 June 21, 1957 Oct. 11, 1960 Oct. 11, 1960 Oct. 11, 1960 June 21, 1957 June 21, 1957 June 21, 1957 June 21, 1957 June 21, 1957 June 21, 1957 June 21, 1957 Oct. 11, 1960 Aug. 22, 1957 Oct. 11, 1960 May 12, 1959 Aug. 20, 1959 Oct. 11, 1960 Oct. 11, 1960 Dec. 28, 1961 Oct. 11, 1960 Oct. 11, 1960 Dec. 28, 1961

¹ Any changes occurring between Jan. 31, 1962 and the date of going to press will be carried in an Appendix to this volume.

Parliamentary Secretaries.—As provided by the Parliamentary Act (SC 1959, c. 15), assented to June 4, 1959, 15 Parliamentary Secretaries were appointed (one on Aug. 20, 1959 and 14 on Nov. 18, 1959) from among the Members of the House of Commons to hold office for 12 months and to assist the respective Ministers in such manner as each Minister may direct. In so doing, the Government revived the system of parliamentary assistantships in practice during the war and postwar years subsequent to 1943, whereby Cabinet Ministers might receive assistance in the performance of their parliamentary functions and promising Members of the House might secure a degree of apprenticeship for higher public office. A second Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Agriculture was appointed on Oct. 11, 1960, raising the number to 16, and the appointments were extended for one year on Nov. 18, 1960. On Jan. 18, 1962, the following Parliamentary Secretaries were appointed for a 12-month period:—

10. . .

Secretary	Minister
 D1 D	
RICHARD A. BELL	Finance
THOMAS M. BELL	Justice
L. E. CARDIFF.	National Health and Welfare
EGAN CHAMBERS	National Defence
JOHN A. CHARLTON	Agriculture
Roland L. English	Fisheries
HARRY JONES	Veterans Affairs
WARNER J. JORGENSON	Agriculture
MARCEL LAMBERT	National Revenue
Q. MARTINI	Transport
EDMUND L. MORRIS	Trade and Commerce
JOHN C. PALLETT	Prime Minister
T. RICARD	Prime Minister
YVON-ROMA TASSÉ	Public Works
RICHARD D. THRASHER	Labour

a .

57